Annual Board Elections



The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Kansas is a membership-based organization. All dues-paying members are entitled to vote in elections for the board of directors, the governing body of the ACLU of Kansas. A Nominating Committee made up of current members of the board reviews potential directors and proposes a slate, made up of one or more candidates for each of the open positions. Ballots are distributed to all dues-paying members of the ACLU of Kansas.

Directors are elected upon receiving the affirmative vote of a majority of the votes received from ACLU of Kansas members.


To vote electronically, using our secure online election system, you will need the 8-digit membership number found on the postcard you received in the mail. Electronic ballots must be cast by 11:59 p.m CT on Friday, May 11.

You may also request a paper ballot by calling (913) 490-4100 ex. 221. If you choose to vote via paper ballot it must be postmarked no later than Friday, May 11.


The Nominating Committee of the board of directors has put forward the following slate of candidates:

For a term ending in 2020 – 3 open board positions

  • Raymond Rico – Kansas City, KS
    Raymond has served on the board for 6 years. He is an attorney in private practice.

  • Jeff Wicks – Wichita, KS
    Jeff has served on the board for 5 years. He is an attorney with a focus on death penalty cases.

  • Micheline Burger – Lawrence, KS
    Micheline has served on the board for 4 years. She is a retired attorney who has been involved in civil liberties and social justice organizations for many years, including being an active board member and participant with the ACLU.

For a term ending in 2021 – 7 open board position

  • Jim Bell – Overland Park, KS
    Jim has served on the board for 3 years. He is a father, Vietnam veteran, and retired trial lawyer who has served on the ACLU Legal Panel for the last 10+ years.

  • Sandy Brown – Lawrence, KS
    Sandy has served on the board for 2 years. A physical therapist, she served as the Event Chair for the recent Free State Forum with guest speaker Floyd Abrams.

  • Amii Castle – Lawrence, KS
    Amii is a professor at the University of KS in the Schools of Law and Business. In February of 2017, she started a student chapter of the ACLU at KU. The group has been very active—meeting monthly with guest speakers addressing ACLU issues and participating in issue-based advocacy.

  • Mark Johnson – Kansas City, MO
    Mark has served on the board for 3 years. He has been a lawyer in Kansas for over 35 years, and over the years has spent more time working on civil rights and civil liberties matters, including serving as counsel in the Kansas same-sex marriage case and several voting rights and voter eligibility cases.

  • Lon Lewis – Topeka, KS
    Lon has served on the board for 3 years. He is a veterinary nutritionist involved in animal health product R&D and serves as ACLU of Kansas board of directors Treasurer.

  • Brad Stuewe – Salina, KS
    Brad is a retired physician who would like to become more active in the ACLU—especially given the current environment, both nationally and locally. He is active in Salina, has been on numerous boards, and is knowledgeable about his community and Kansas.

  • Annie Tietze – Topeka, KS
    Annie is a retired educator and legislator from Topeka. She spent 10 years in the KS House of Representatives. She is involved with the League of Women Voters and Doorstep, Inc. and is excited to become more active with the ACLU.

* indicates required field

Your Information
Your Vote

**Please complete either Section 1 or Section 2 of this ballot, but not both**